XLRI felicitates its distinguished alumnus : Annual Homecoming 2014

Home / Events / XLRI felicitates its distinguished alumnus : Annual Homecoming 2014

XLRI felicitates its distinguished alumnus : Annual Homecoming 2014

November 12, 2014: XLRI- Xavier School of Managementone of India’s premier B-Schools organized the‘Distinguished Alumnus Awards Ceremony’ at the ‘Annual Homecoming 2014’ today.

 24 prominent alumni of the institute received the Distinguished Alumnus Trophy from Fr. E. Abraham S.J., Director, XLRI across seven categories.

Mr. Rana Sinha, Managing Director, Tata Hitachi Construction Machinery Co. Ltd & National President, XLRI Alumni Association and Prof. Sharad Sarin, Chairperson, Alumni, XLRI were also present on the occasion.

About 250 XL Alumni participated in this year’s Homecoming that included the batches of 2004 who celebrated their 10th reunion year and 1979 batch that is celebrating their 30th reunion.

Fr. E. Abraham S.J., Director, XLRI commented on the occasion, “XLRI Homecoming is an important annual event for us. Presently, the alumni base of XLRI is around 14,000 and we intend to engage all our alumni, across programs and year to participate in this event.”

 “Our alumni are the torch bearers of XLRI’s values and mission and role models for our generation. I congratulate the recipients of The Distinguished Alumnus Awards,” he added.

 Prof. Sharad Sarin, Chairperson, Alumni, XLRI said, “Today, on the occasion of the Annual homecoming, we are felicitating our 24 alumni, who are the winners in their respective fields”.

 “XLRI can claim to have the most active networking of Alumni amongst Indian Business Schools. Every year the alumni chapters have their get-togethers in cities across India and abroad. Recently, in October 2014, alumni meets were held in various cities in USA, Dubai and Toronto” he added. 


alumThe Winners in different categories of ‘Distinguished Alumnus Awards’:


Lifetime Achievement Award Mr. B.L. Raina – (BME-1973 batch) Former MD, Tinplate Company of India Ltd (TCIL)
Mr. David D’Costa – (BMD-1976 batch) MD, Pure Water House
Mr. Mario Lobo – (PMIR-1977 batch) MD,  Personnel Search Services Pvt. Ltd.
Distinguished Alumnus Award (Practicing Manager) Mr. Madhukar Kamath – (BMD-1976 batch) Group CEO and MD, DDB Mudra Group
Ms. Rekha Menon – (PMIR-1981 batch) Managing Director, Human Resources, Accenture
Mr. Johnson Alexander – (PMIR-1981 batch) Director of Human Resources and QHSE at Dulsco, Dubai
Mr. N.S. Rajan – (BMD-1983 batch) Group CHRO and Member of Group Executive Council of Tata Sons
Mr. S.V. Nathan – (PMIR-1983 batch) Director -Talent, Deloitte Consulting India Pvt. Ltd
Mr. Sandeep Bakshi – (BMD-1983 batch) Managing Director & CEO, ICICI Prudential
Mr. Ajay Kaul – (BMD-1989 batch) CEO of Jubilant FoodWorks Ltd
Distinguished Alumnus Award (Academician) Dr. Girish Punj – (BMD-1974 batch) Professor of Marketing, University of Connecticut, Storrs, CT
Dr. Kannan Srinivasan – (BMD-1980 batch) Professor of Management, Marketing and Business Technology, Carnegie Mellon University
Distinguished Alumnus Award (Entrepreneur) Mr. Ronald D’Costa – (BMD-1970 batch) Owner of Boulevard Hotel, Jamshedpur
Mr. Vivek Das – (BMD-1973 batch) Advertising Photographer
Ms. Ashraf Patel – (PMIR-1990 batch) Co-founder of Pravah
Ms. Gargi Banerji – (PMIR-1988 batch) Co-founder of  NGO- ‘Pragya’
Distinguished Alumnus Award (Public Service) Mr. Vikram Misri,  IFS – ( BMD-1986 batch)  Ambassador of India to the Kingdom of Spain
Mr. Ankur Gupta, IAS – ( BMD-1988 batch) IAS  Director General-cum- Secretary, Higher Education Department, Chandigarh
Ms. Ministhy Nair,  IAS – ( PMIR-1998 batch)  District Magistrate, Barabanki, Uttar Pradesh
Distinguished Alumnus Award (Communication & Performing Arts) Dr. Akash Khurana – ( BMD-1977 batch)  Actor & Director
Mr. Mohan Raman – ( BMD-1978)  Actor
Distinguished Alumnus Award (Young Achiever) Mr. Sanjeev Kapur – ( BMD- 1998 batch)  CMO &  Head of Customer Franchise Management, Citi India
Mr. Gautam Ghosh – ( PMIR- 1999 batch)  Member of the HR team at Philips India
Mr. Kumar Ankit – ( BMD-2011 batch)  Co-founder & Executive Director, Green Leaf Energy


XLRI Alumni Association has Alumni Chapters both in India and abroad. In India, the XLRI Alumni Chapters are in Bangalore, Delhi, Chennai, Hyderabad, Kolkata, Mumbai, and Pune. XLRI also has Alumni Chapters in Singapore and Dubai. In U.S.A. it has chapters in San Jose (covering Bay Area), Dallas (covering the State of Texas), Washington DC, New Jersey, New York, Boston (covering New England), Chicago (covering mid-west region), as well as in Toronto (Canada).

External Linkages (ExLink)
External Linkages (ExLink)
The External Linkages of XLRI is responsible for branding XLRI across various offline and online media channels, and provides a PR channel to other student committees in XLRI.
Recent Posts

Leave a Comment